Skip to content
Bay Area ADU Builders

Building an ADU in San Francisco, CA

Checked against the city's ADU pages on Oct 18, 2026.

Can I build one?
Yes, up to 1,000 sq ft Under the State program a detached ADU can be 850 sq ft (studio or 1-bed) or 1,000 sq ft (2+ bed), 18 ft tall, 4 ft from side and rear lines.[1]
What will the city charge?
6 fee lines sf.gov says City fees run 6% to 9% of construction cost. See every fee[2]
Who builds here?
8 licensed builders Each lists San Francisco on its own site and holds an active CSLB license. See the list

San Francisco has two ADU programs, State and Local. You pick one for your project and can't combine them.[3][2] Compare them

Licensed ADU builders in San Francisco

Ranked by a public score anyone can check: license, years licensed, ADU types and cities shown on their own sites, a local office, and published prices. Nobody pays to move up. Quote requests go to our team with the builder you picked. How we rank

What San Francisco allows

San Francisco has two ADU programs, State and Local. You pick one for your project and can't combine them.

  • Detached ADU, max size[1]

    State program
    850 sq ft (studio or 1-bed); 1,000 sq ft (2+ bed)
    Local program
    Not stated on the city's ADU pages
  • Attached ADU, max size[1]

    State program
    850 or 1,000 sq ft, or 50% of the main home, whichever is greater
    Local program
    Not stated on the city's ADU pages
  • Junior ADU (inside the house)[1][3]

    State program
    Up to 500 sq ft
    Local program
    Up to 500 sq ft
  • Height[1]

    State program
    Detached 18 ft (+2 ft for a matching roof pitch); attached 25 ft
    Local program
    Not stated on the city's ADU pages
  • Side and rear setbacks[1][4]

    State program
    4 ft; none if replacing a structure in the same spot and size
    Local program
    Rear yard, open space, exposure and density can be waived for existing buildings
  • Units on a single-family lot[1][3]

    State program
    1 detached + 1 converted + 1 JADU, or 1 attached on its own
    Local program
    Lots with 4 or fewer units: 1 ADU + 1 detached ADU
  • Parking[1][5]

    State program
    None. State law bars parking requirements for these streamlined units
    Local program
    Not stated on the city's ADU pages
  • Owner must live on site[1][3]

    State program
    No for an ADU; yes for a JADU that shares a bathroom
    Local program
    No for an ADU; yes for a JADU that shares a bathroom
  • Review[1][2]

    State program
    Ministerial, 60 days from a complete application; no neighbor notice, no appeals
    Local program
    Planning review and approval letter first; 15-day posted notice and a Rent Board declaration
  • Local program on buildings with 5 or more units, or with a seismic retrofit: no limit on ADUs, plus 1 detached ADU.[3]
  • If you use Local program waivers, the new unit can come under the Rent Ordinance through a Costa-Hawkins agreement.[4]
  • Some State-program ADUs on lots with 4 or fewer units can be sold separately as condos if the application was filed on or after May 1, 2025.[1]
  • State law gives unpermitted ADUs built before Jan 1, 2020 a path to legalization. SF Planning has a Legalization of Unauthorized Units checklist.[1][3]
  • ADUs must be rented for more than 30 days.[1]
ADU rules in San Francisco drawn on a typical lot Detached ADU, State program: up to 1,000 square feet, 4 feet from side and rear lot lines, 18 feet tall. Parking: None (state law). Rear lot line Street Main house ADU up to 1,000 sq ft 18 ft tall 4 ft 4 ft Parking: none (state law)
Detached ADU, State program. Not to scale.

City fees for an ADU in San Francisco

Fee lines for an ADU in San Francisco
City fees, all departments (sf.gov rule of thumb) 6% to 9% of construction cost[2] sf.gov says a new unit typically costs at least $125,000 in material and labor, and architects and engineers add about 10%.
Building permit, DBI Table 1A-A (valuation $200,001 to $500,000) Plan review $4,011 + $13.31 per extra $1,000; issuance $1,402 + $4.21 per extra $1,000[6] For permits issued on or after July 12, 2026. Other departments' fees and trade permits are extra.
Permit Review Roundtable (State program) $0 extra[7]
Impact fees $0 under 750 sq ft or on lots with 3 or fewer units; otherwise in proportion to the main home[1][8] Planning Code Article 4 impact fees were cut 67% from Aug 22, 2026. The inclusionary fee was not cut.
School fees (SF Unified) $3.79 per sq ft[9][2][5] DBI calculates the fee from your application. The city register does not say how ADUs are charged; state law lets districts charge only ADUs over 500 sq ft.
Water and sewer capacity charges (SFPUC) $0 for an ADU on a single-family lot[10][11] SFPUC won't make you upsize your meter. If you choose a new or bigger meter, you pay installation fees only. Buildings with more units pay capacity charges when they add ADUs.
School fee rates for districts in San Francisco (1)

DBI calculates the SF Unified fee from your permit application. Questions go to schoolimpactfee@sfusd.edu or 415-241-6090.[2]

  • San Francisco Unified School District[9][2]The city register does not say how ADUs are charged. DBI calculates the fee from your permit application. $3.79/sq ft

How the permit works

  1. 1

    Pick the State or Local program

    The State program has set sizes and a 60-day review. The Local program allows waivers but needs Planning approval, a posted notice and a Rent Board declaration.[3][1][2]

  2. 2

    Prepare plans

    Hire a design professional, or use a plan DBI has pre-approved. For the State program, your designer must attend the Permit Review Roundtable.[7][12]

  3. 3

    Apply on the PermitSF portal

    Create a free OpenGov account and submit plans electronically. Local-program projects need a Planning Approval Letter before DBI submittal.[2]

  4. 4

    Review with DBI, Planning, Public Works, SFPUC and Fire

    State-program projects go to a virtual Permit Review Roundtable at no extra fee. Site permits can't use it. SFPUC needs a Fixture Count Form.[7][2][10]

  5. 5

    Build and pass inspections

    Your design professional lists any special inspections. Trade permits may be separate. A final inspection closes the permit.[2]

Review time: State-program ADUs: 60 days from a complete application.[1][2]

State deadline: State law gives the city 15 business days to say if your application is complete and 60 days to approve or deny a complete one.[5]

Apply at: PermitSF portal

Preapproved plans

DBI pre-approves detached ADU plans that designers submit, for a $2,408 flat fee per plan paid by the designer. The plans are made for 25-ft lots and are valid for the current code cycle.[12]

Who qualifies: Not for lots in slope-protection, landslide or liquefaction, Maher or flood zones.

The city page links no list of approved plans or designers.

Common questions

What are the ADU requirements in San Francisco?

Under the State program a detached ADU can be 850 sq ft (studio or 1-bed) or 1,000 sq ft (2+ bed), 18 ft tall, 4 ft from side and rear lines. On a single-family lot you can add 1 detached, 1 converted and 1 junior ADU.[1]

How big can an ADU be in San Francisco?

Under the State program, 850 sq ft for a studio or 1-bedroom and 1,000 sq ft for 2 or more bedrooms. An attached ADU can instead be 50% of the main home if that is larger. A junior ADU is up to 500 sq ft.[1]

How much does an ADU permit cost in San Francisco?

sf.gov says City fees run 6% to 9% of construction cost. ADUs under 750 sq ft pay no impact fees, and SFPUC charges no water or sewer capacity charge for an ADU on a single-family lot. SF Unified's school fee is $3.79 per sq ft.[2][1][10][9]

Do I need parking for an ADU in San Francisco?

Not for a State-program detached, converted or junior ADU. These are streamlined units under state law, which bars parking requirements for them. The city's ADU pages don't address parking.[1][5]

How long does an ADU permit take in San Francisco?

State-program ADUs get a ministerial review within 60 days of a complete application, with no neighbor notice and no appeals. The Local program adds Planning review and a 15-day posted notice first.[1][2]

What we couldn't confirm

  • The city's ADU pages do not address parking; the parking answer relies on state law for streamlined units.
  • Local-program size, height and parking limits are not on the city's ADU pages.
  • No list of DBI pre-approved plans or designers is published.
  • SF Unified's own fee notice and its rule for ADUs over 500 sq ft were not found.
  • SFPUC meter installation fees (in its Rate Book) were not read.
  • The city publishes no ADU fee total, only the 6% to 9% rule of thumb.

Sources

Every fact on this page links to one of these. We read each one on the date shown.

  1. 1. SF Planning State program sizes/heights/setbacks/counts, Sec Checked Oct 18, 2026
  2. 2. City & County of San Francisco (sf.gov / DBI) State vs Local program paths, Roundtable, 60-day review, PermitSF, cost $125k+, fees 6-9% of construction Checked Oct 18, 2026
  3. 3. SF Planning Program types, local-program unit counts, JADU 500 sq ft, eviction rules Checked Oct 18, 2026
  4. 4. sf.gov Rent Ordinance / Costa-Hawkins, waivers Checked Oct 18, 2026
  5. 5. California Department of Housing and Community Development (HCD) All state ADU/JADU rules used in state_baseline.md (sizes, heights, setbacks, parking, owner-occupancy, JADU, Checked Oct 18, 2026
  6. 6. SF DBI Valuation-based plan review + issuance fees Checked Oct 18, 2026
  7. 7. sf.gov State-program only, no extra fee, site permits excluded Checked Oct 18, 2026
  8. 8. SF Planning 67% Article 4 impact fee reduction effective Aug 22, 2026 Checked Oct 18, 2026
  9. 9. SF Planning SFUSD school fee residential $3.79/sq ft effective since 02/01/2021 Checked Oct 18, 2026
  10. 10. SFPUC SFD+ADU: no capacity charges Checked Oct 18, 2026
  11. 11. SFPUC 'In most cases, ADUs are not assessed additional capacity charges' Checked Oct 18, 2026
  12. 12. sf.gov (DBI) $2,408 flat fee Checked Oct 18, 2026